Reading to Vegetables

Wednesday, January 29, 2014 to Sunday, February 9, 2014
Performance Showtimes: 
Wed, Jan 29, 2014 - 7:30pm
Thu, Jan 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
Fri, Jan 31, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 1, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 2, 2014 - 2:00pm
Wed, Feb 5, 2014 - 7:30pm
Thu, Feb 6, 2014 - 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 7, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 8, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 9, 2014 - 2:00pm

Written by EM Lewis
Directed by Tina Polzin

The opportunity to bring a brand new play from page to stage is rare for student directors. With Reading to Vegetables, Tina Polzin, a student in our Professional Director Training Program (PDTP), will work directly with Portland-based playwright EM Lewis to create a Hitchcockian world of suspense on stage for the very first time. Inspired by Milgram’s famous “Obedience to Authority Studies” of the 1960s, this psychological thriller centers on a pre-med student, working as a research assistant, who poses as a coma victim. Her test subjects unwittingly share their secrets, and when a terrible accident occurs, the audience is left to decide who is responsible. The heightened stakes of this reality-based drama irrevocably lead to the question, “What would you do?”

A post-show talk will be held on Saturday, February 1.

Artists

Cast: 
Creative Team: 
Tina Polzin Director
Phillip Lienau Scenic Design
Melinda Hare Costume Design
Paul Arnold Lighting Design
Andrew Swan Sound Design/Stage Manager
People Involved: 
Event Type: