The Hostage

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 to Sunday, March 15, 2015
The Hostage
The Hostage
Performance Showtimes: 
Wed, Mar 4, 2015 - 7:30pm
Thu, Mar 5, 2015 - 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 6, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 7, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 8, 2015 - 2:00pm
Wed, Mar 11, 2015 - 7:30pm
Thu, Mar 12, 2015 - 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 13, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 14, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 15, 2015 - 2:00pm

Written By: Brendan Behan
Directed by: Tina Polzin (Professional Director Training Program)

 

Directed by third-year MFA directing candidate Tina Polzin, Brendan Behan’s The Hostage masks topical politics and serious discourse with slapstick, satire, and musical numbers. It’s 1959 and Leslie Williams, a British soldier, is being held as a hostage in a Dublin whorehouse in exchange for an IRA man who is to be hanged in Belfast. This delightful, joyous, heart-wrenching play reminds us to look at the people before us—and to choose humanity over religion and politics.

A post-show talk will be held on Thursday, March 12.

Artists

Cast: 
Christopher Donoghue Pat
Andrea Salaiz Meg
Tara Velan Miss Gilchrist
Zach Virden Mr. Mulleady
Rebecca Patti Teresa
Rudy Roushdi Leslie
Christen Gee Colette
Tatiana Pavela Russian Sailor
Aaron Cammack Volunteer
Colton Sullivan Rio Rita
Kellyn Traenkenschuh Ropeen
Susan Fink Monsewer
Rebecca Herivel Kate
Nina Williams O'Shaunessy
Creative Team: 
Tina Polzin Director
Jared Roberts Scenic Design
Melinda Hare Costume Design
John Bernard Lighting Design
Event Type: