Bus Stop

Wednesday, April 22, 2015 to Sunday, May 3, 2015
  • Hazel Lozano and AJ Friday in 'Bus Stop' (Photo: Mike Hipple)
    Hazel Lozano and AJ Friday in 'Bus Stop' (Photo: Mike Hipple)
  • Hazel Lozano and AJ Friday in 'Bus Stop' (Photo: Mike Hipple)
    Hazel Lozano and AJ Friday in 'Bus Stop' (Photo: Mike Hipple)
Performance Showtimes: 
Wed, Apr 22, 2015 - 7:30pm
Thu, Apr 23, 2015 - 7:30pm
Fri, Apr 24, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sat, Apr 25, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sun, Apr 26, 2015 - 2:00pm
Wed, Apr 29, 2015 - 7:30pm
Thu, Apr 30, 2015 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 1, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 2, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 3, 2015 - 2:00pm

Written By: William Inge
Directed by: Malika Oyetimein and Sean Ryan (Professional Director Training Program)

Sixty-years after its Broadway premiere, first-year MFA directors Malika Oyetimein and Sean Ryan lead us back to the small town diner 30-miles west of Kansas City where the great American playwright William Inge revealed simple truths of our common humanity.

Five weary travelers and their bus driver find themselves stranded in the middle of the night, waiting out a snow storm. A nightclub chanteuse, a belligerent cowboy and his guitar-strumming sidekick, a hard-drinking college professor on the run from his past, the bus driver, the proprietor of the diner, and a naïve young waitress, reveal their hopes, dreams, loves and fears, while the town sheriff does his best to maintain order. As the temperature drops and the night progresses, tensions and passions rise in Inge's classic bittersweet comedy.

A post-show talk will be held on Thursday, April 30.

 

Related Files: 

Artists

Cast: 
Thomas Allen Carl
Aaron Francis Cammack Will Masters (Act I) and Virgil Blessing (Acts II & III)
Skye Edwards Virgil Blessing (Act I) and Bo Decker (Acts II & III)
AJ Friday Bo Decker (Act I) and Will Masters (Acts II & III)
Richard Hesik Dr. Gerald Lyman
Hazel Lozano Cherie (Act I) and Grace Hoylard (Acts II & III)
Jess Moss Grace Hoylard (Act I) and Elma Duckworth (Acts II & III)
Tatiana Pavela Elma Duckworth (Act I) and Cherie (Acts II & III)
Creative Team: 
Malika Oyetimein (Acts II & III) and Sean Ryan (Act I) Directors
Lex Marcos  Scenic Designer
Julia Hayes Welch (Act I) and Shawnee Luciani (Acts II & III) Costume Designers
Kenrick Fischer  Lighting Designer