Dead Man's Cellphone

Saturday, May 23, 2020 to Sunday, June 7, 2020
$5 - $20
Suite for Strangers, 2004
Suite for Strangers, 2004
Performance Showtimes: 
Sat, May 23, 2020 - 7:30pm
Tue, May 26, 2020 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 28, 2020 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 29, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 30, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 31, 2020 - 2:00pm
Wed, Jun 3, 2020 - 7:30pm
Thu, Jun 4, 2020 - 7:30pm
Fri, Jun 5, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sat, Jun 6, 2020 - 2:00pm
Sat, Jun 6, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sun, Jun 7, 2020 - 2:00pm

Dead Man's Cellphone is part of the School of Drama's 2019-2020 season. Subscriptions and single tickets are on sale now! Click here to subscribe.

By Sarah Ruhl
Directed by Andrew Coopman
May 28 - June 7, 2020
    Previews May 23 & 26
    Pay-What-You-Can Wednesday June 3
Glenn Hughes Penthouse Theatre

“Thank God there are still people who build churches for the rest of us so that when someone dies or gets married we have a place to—. I could not put all of this— (she thinks the word grief) — in a low-ceilinged room—no—it requires height.

Jean’s cell phone rings.

Could someone please turn their fucking cell phone off.”

An incessantly ringing cell phone in a quiet café, a stranger at the next table who has had enough, and a dead man with a lot of loose ends. So begins Dead Man’s Cell Phone, a brilliant comedy by MacArthur “Genius” Grant recipient and Pulitzer Prize finalist Sarah Ruhl. It follows Jean, an unexceptional woman who embarks on an odyssey into the lives of others when she inherits— confiscates, really—the phone of a (dead) stranger. This is a play about how we memorialize the dead, and how that remembering changes us. It is the story of a woman forced to confront her own assumptions about morality, redemption, and the need to connect in a technologically obsessed world. Second-year MFA director Andrew Coopman directs.

People Involved: 
Event Type: