The Beggar's Opera

Wednesday, April 23, 2014 to Sunday, May 4, 2014
Performance Showtimes: 
Wed, Apr 23, 2014 - 7:30pm
Thu, Apr 24, 2014 - 7:30pm
Fri, Apr 25, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sat, Apr 26, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sun, Apr 27, 2014 - 2:00pm
Wed, Apr 30, 2014 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 1, 2014 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 2, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 3, 2014 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 4, 2014 - 2:00pm

Written by Vaclav Havel
Translated by Paul Wilson
Directed by Wilson Milam

Former Czech Republic president, political dissident, and playwright Vaclav Havel borrowed characters and plot elements from the iconic 18th century The Beggar’s Opera and the more recent Three Penny Opera to create an entirely new commentary on 20th century society. This updated non-musical version of The Beggar’s Opera is set in a farcical underworld where no one can be trusted. A large cast of energetic BA students tells of a satirical society where adversaries lie, deceit is commonplace, and shifting alliances come as second nature. Nothing is quite what it seems, but irony and absurdity abound.

 

Artists

Cast: 
Joshua Chessin-Yudin Harry Filch
Heather Coit Molly
Monica Gonzalez Betty
Esther Hafner Lucy
Spencer Hamp Macheath
Sylvia Kowalski Elizabeth Peachum
Brandon Nevins Bill Lockit
Grace Nguyen Polly
Rosalind Phelps Mary Lockit/Diana
Hannah Ruwe Jenny
Mimi Santos Dolly
Stella Marie Stuckey Vicki
Nathan Wornian William Peachum
Creative Team: 
Wilson Milam Director
Jennifer Sipila Scenic Design
Allison Panzarella Costume Design
Ryn Flynn Lighting Design
Event Type: