In the Heart of America

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 7:30pm to Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 2:00pm
$8 - $20
In the Heart of America
Performance Showtimes: 
Sat, Mar 2, 2019 - 7:30pm
Tue, Mar 5, 2019 - 7:30pm
Wed, Mar 6, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, Mar 7, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 8, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 9, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 10, 2019 - 2:00pm
Wed, Mar 13, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, Mar 14, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 15, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 16, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 17, 2019 - 2:00pm

“I wanted to travel everyplace on your body. Even the places you'd never been. Love can make your feel so changed you the world is changed. ”

In the Heart of America
By Naomi Wallace
Directed by Amanda Friou, 3rd year MFA director
March 6 - 17, 2019
Previews March 2 & 5
Floyd and Delores Jones Playhouse, University of Washington

In the shadow of the Gulf War, a young Palestinian woman's quest to learn what happened to her brother, Remzi, a U.S. Army soldier, leads her to a Kentuckian soldier named Craver. Through a poetic web of time leaps and apparitions, we see the two soldiers fall in love against the backdrop of war. Woven into that story, the ghost of a Vietnamese mother, Lu Ming, seeks justice for her infant daughter, a victim of the 1968 massacre at My Lai. Obie Award-winning Playwright Naomi Wallace, known for her signature blend of politics, eroticism, and lyricism, here masterfully rings the gong of histories that still reverberate through our national body.

People Involved: 
Event Type: