Orlando

Tuesday, April 25, 2017 to Sunday, May 7, 2017
Regular - $20 (door), $18 (advance) UW/Senior/Student - $14 (Door), $12 (advance)
  • Orlando
Performance Showtimes: 
Tue, Apr 25, 2017 - 7:30pm
Thu, Apr 27, 2017 - 7:30pm
Fri, Apr 28, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sat, Apr 29, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sun, Apr 30, 2017 - 2:00pm
Wed, May 3, 2017 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 4, 2017 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 5, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 6, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 7, 2017 - 2:00pm

Adapted by Sarah Ruhl
From the novel by Virginia Woolf
Directed by L. Zane Jones

Orlando is a handsome, young English nobleman favored by queens and princesses. The poem he’s trying to write isn’t going well; otherwise, he’s having a very nice life. When he consorts with a gypsy, however, things take a strange turn: he awakens from a seven-day sleep transformed into a woman…and an immortal. Virginia Woolf’s Orlando is one of literature’s most beloved fantasies—a love letter, a biography, and an epic poem that Woolf called, “too long to be a joke and too frivolous to be taken seriously.” Sarah’s Ruhl’s dreamy adaptation, directed by School of Drama faculty member L. Zane Jones, is a fun, sexy, gender-bending romp through 300 years of literary history. 

Previews: Tuesday April 25 & Thursday April 27 @ 7:30 PM
Opening Night: Friday April 28 @ 7:30
Performance Dates: 
Sat, April 29 @ 7:30pm
Sun, April 30 @ 2:00pm
Wed, May 3 @ 7:30pm
Thu, May 4 @ 7:30pm
Fri, May 5 @ 7:30pm
Sat, May 6 @ 7:30pm
Sun, May 7 @ 2:00pm + pre-show lobby talk with Prof. Stefka Mihaylova, PhD @ 1:00 PM

NOTES: 
- This show contains sexually suggestive content.
- The house will open 5 minutes prior to curtain for seating.
- Some seating is on floor cushions. Most seating is traditional, and we do not anticipate that anyone will be forced to sit on the floor. However, if you require a traditional seat, please let us know in advance via email so that we can reserve one for you. CLICK HERE TO SEND US AN EMAIL. 

Artists

Cast: 
Orlando Annie Willis
Sasha/Chorus Gabi Boettner
Euphrosyne/Chorus Daphne Sage Gomez
The Queen/Chorus Wyatt Hazel
Chorus Katrin Hosseini
Favilla/Chorus Alyssa Karounos
Clorinda/Chorus Hannah Probst 
Marmaduke/Chorus Weijing Zhou
Archduchess/Chorus Nina Williams-Teramachi
Chorus Zihe Wang
Creative Team: 
Director L. Zane Jones
Scenic Designer Matthew Webb
Costume Designer Meleta Buckstaff
Lighting Designer Kenrick Fischer
Assistant Director Tatiana Pavela