The Learned Ladies

Wednesday, May 22, 2019 - 7:30pm to Sunday, June 2, 2019 - 2:00pm
$8 - $20
Performance Showtimes: 
Sat, May 18, 2019 - 7:30pm
Tue, May 21, 2019 - 7:30pm
Wed, May 22, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 23, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 24, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 25, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 26, 2019 - 2:00pm
Wed, May 29, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 30, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 31, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, Jun 1, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, Jun 2, 2019 - 2:00pm

"What, Sister! Are you truly of a mind
To leave your precious maidenhood behind,
And give yourself in marriage to a man?
Can you be harboring such a vulgar plan?"


The Learned Ladies
By Molière, Translated by Richard Wilbur
Directed by Jane Nichols, guest director
May 22 - June 2, 2019
Previews 5/18 & 5/21
Pay-What-You-Can Wednesday May 29th at 7:30 PM: Day-of-show only, $1 minimum
Glenn Hughes Penthouse Theatre, University of Washington

The Parnell sisters don’t always agree. Armande is seeking a life driven by intellectual pursuits, while Henriette wants to follow her heart. Add a set of overbearing parents, some meddling relatives, and a few pompous poets, and you’ve got one of Molière’s most ridiculous satires. Jane Nichols, an internationally renowned teacher of physical comedy and Clown, directs this funny, philosophical play that pits the power of the mind against the passion of the heart. Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Richard Wilbur’s translation of Les Femmes savantes sparkles—in Nichols’ words, “every character is delicious and every scene is a pearl.”

RUN TIME: Approximately 2 hours 15 minutes, including one 15-minute intermission

Press Release
Program

CREATIVE TEAM:

Director Jane Nichols
Set Designer Adair MacCormack
Costume Designer Jordan Fell
Lighting Designer Trevor Cushman
Sound Designer Garth Ball
Dramaturge Guillaume Tourniaire
Stage Manager Elliot Schumacher

CAST:

Chrysale Brandon Pascal
Ariste Andrés Rodriguez
Philaminte Alyssa Franks
Armande Erika Vetter
Henriette Jessica Thorne
Bèlise Hailey Henderson
Clitandre Jon Díaz
Trissotin Semaj Miller
Lépine Jason Treviño
Martine Erica Matthews
Lépinette / Julienne / Notary Asialani Holman