Three Sisters

Saturday, November 16, 2019 to Sunday, December 8, 2019
$5 - $20
Three Sisters, 2000
Three Sisters, 2000
Performance Showtimes: 
Sat, Nov 16, 2019 - 7:30pm
Tue, Nov 19, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, Nov 21, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, Nov 22, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, Nov 23, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, Nov 24, 2019 - 2:00pm
Wed, Dec 4, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, Dec 5, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, Dec 6, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, Dec 7, 2019 - 2:00pm
Sat, Dec 7, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, Dec 8, 2019 - 2:00pm

Three Sisters is part of the School of Drama's 2019-2020 season. Subscriptions and single tickets are on sale now! Click here to subscribe.

By Anton Chekhov
Directed by Jeffrey Fracé
November 21 – December 8, 2019
    Previews November 16 & 19
    No performances November 25 – December 3, due to Thanksgiving holiday
    Pay-What-You-Can Wednesday December 4
Glenn Hughes Penthouse Theatre

“I often think, what if one were to begin life over again, knowing what one is about! If one life, which has been already lived, were only a rough sketch so to speak, and the second were the fair copy! Then, I fancy, every one of us would feel compelled not to repeat himself, at the very least to rearrange his manner of life.” 

In a room in a house in a provincial town, three sisters, Olga, Masha, and Irina, wait for their lives to begin. This is the deceptively simple premise of Chekhov’s tragicomic masterpiece, Three Sisters. UW Drama faculty member Jeffrey Fracé, an expert in devised performance who spent 10 years as an Associate Artist of Anne Bogart’s SITI company, brings us this spare reimagining of this third of Chekhov’s “three great plays” (the others being The Cherry Orchard and Uncle Vanya). Chekhov’s wife, the great actress Olga Knipper, called Three Sisters “a play for all time.” Heeding Knipper’s words, Fracé will attempt to clear out all of our assumptions about what is “Chekhovian,” and, working a company of undergraduate actors and graduate designers, allow into the theatre only, in his words, “what demands to be there.”

People Involved: 
Event Type: