We've moved! The School of Drama operations are relocating to Condon Hall until Summer 2024, while Hutchinson Hall undergoes seismic upgrades. See additional information.

You are here

Congratulations the 2019 UW Drama Gregory Award Nominees! 

Submitted by Caroline Rensel on September 19, 2019 - 4:23pm
The Gregory Awards presented by Theatre Puget Sound 2019

A hearty congratulations to all the members of the UW School of Drama family who were nominated for a 2019 Gregory Award! Nominees are:

Holly Arsenault (UW Drama staff member; BA 2001) is nominated for Outstanding New Play for The Great Inconvenience at Annex Theatre

Doris Black (MFA 1997) is nominated for Outstanding Costume Design for Princess Ida at Seattle Gilbert & Sullivan Society

Tim Bond (UW Drama faculty member; MFA 1983) is nominated for Outstanding Director for Pass Over at ACT Theatre

Allyson Lee Brown (MFA 2019) is nominated as a member of the ensemble for Outstanding Ensemble in Citizen: An American Lyric at Sound Theatre Company and The Hansberry Project

Amiya Brown (MFA 2010) is nominated for Outstanding Lighting Design for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time at Village Theatre

Melanie Burgess (MFA 2002) is nominated for Outstanding Costume Design for Urinetown at ACT Theatre & The 5th Avenue Theatre

Desdemona Chiang (MFA 2009) is nominated for Outstanding Director for Caught at Intiman Theatre

Sunam Ellis (MFA 2015) is nominated for Outstanding Performance in a Play for her performance in Sheathed at Macha Theatre Works

Saige Hawthorne (BA, 2017) is nominated for Outstanding Supporting Performance in a Play for her performance in Anansi and the Halfling at Annex Theatre

Julia Hayes Welch (UW Drama faculty member; MFA, 2015) is nominated for Outstanding Scenic Design for Skylight at ACT Theatre

Geoff Korf (UW Drama faculty member and Interim Associate Director) is nominated for Outstanding Lighting Design for Million Dollar Quartet at Village Theatre

Lex Marcos (MFA 2017) is nominated for Outstanding Scenic Design for Parliament Square at Pony World Theatre

Porscha Shaw (MFA 2018) is nominated as a member of the ensemble for Outstanding Ensemble in The Last World Octopus Wrestling Champion at ArtsWest Playhouse & Gallery

Kyle Thompson (BA, 2007) is nominated for Outstanding Sound/Music Design for  Returning the Bones at Book-It Repertory Theatre

Rob Witmer (UW Drama faculty member) is nominated with Meghan Roche for Outstanding Sound/Music Design for Richard III at Seattle Shakespeare Company and Upstart Crow Collective

ACT Theatre and The 5th Avenue Theatre's production of Urinetown, featuring the work of Leslie Law (MFA 1991), Brian Lange (BA 2005), Melanie Burgess (MFA 2002) and Musical Theater alum Mikko Juan (BA, 2017), is nominated for Outstanding Musical

Additionally, congratulations to Valerie Curtis-Newton (UW Drama faculty member, MFA 1996), the 2019 recipient of the Gregory A. Falls Sustained Achievement Award. Professor Curtis-Newton is a pillar of our School of Drama community whose teaching, leadership, mentorship, and artistry have helped to shape our school and every young artist who has passed through our doors over the last 25 years. She is a true steward of the legacy of Gregory A. Falls, who led the School of Drama from 1961 to 1971 and for whom this award is named. Like him, she has dedicated her career to making change not just in the classroom, but also in the wider theatre community, and has done so through countless contributions, including her leadership of The Hansberry Project and her work as a nationally-recognized director.

The 11th Annual Gregory Awards will be held on October 28th at McCaw Hall and are open to the public.

Congratulations to all the nominees!