UTS Presents: Medea

Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 7:30pm
Medea Poster
Performance Showtimes: 
Thu, Feb 23, 2017 - 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 24, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 25, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 26, 2017 - 7:30pm
Wed, Mar 1, 2017 - 7:30pm
Thu, Mar 2, 2017 - 7:30pm
Fri, Mar 3, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sun, Mar 5, 2017 - 7:30pm
Sat, Mar 4, 2017 - 7:30pm
The Undergraduate Theatre Society presents Medea
By Euripides
Translated by Ruby Blondell
Directed by Chris Mowers
February 23 - March 5
Cabaret Theatre, Hutchinson Hall, University of Washington [CLICK FOR MAP]

Foreigner. Woman. Outsider. When Medea abandons her father's house and leaves her homeland, she does so urged on by her love for Jason and his oaths of loyalty to her. When those oaths prove false, love turns to hatred and married bliss turns to bloody revenge. This is the story of what happens when an extraordinary woman finds herself forced to take action against a system which denies her agency based solely on her gender and her nationality. With sentiments that resonate as surprisingly modern and topical in a volatile political climate, Euripides invites us to examine the consequences of a woman, an immigrant, breaking out of the role which a patriarchal society has forced her to play.