You are here

Passage

Thursday, May 19, 2022 to Sunday, May 29, 2022
Price: 
$5-$20 and included in UW Drama Membership
X on blue background
Performance Showtimes: 
Saturday, May 14, 2022 - 7:30pm
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - 7:30pm
Thursday, May 19, 2022 - 7:30pm
Friday, May 20, 2022 - 7:30pm
Saturday, May 21, 2022 - 7:30pm
Sunday, May 22, 2022 - 2:00pm
Wednesday, May 25, 2022 - 7:30pm
Thursday, May 26, 2022 - 7:30pm
Friday, May 27, 2022 - 7:30pm
Saturday, May 28, 2022 - 2:00pm
Saturday, May 28, 2022 - 7:30pm
Sunday, May 29, 2022 - 2:00pm

Buy a 2021-22 Season Membership
"When I think of Country X, the thinking starts from darkness. And by that I
mean the same darkness as the blank space in your mind, before a
thought forms. Does that make sense? Do you know what I'm talking
about? Because all thoughts, and hence all universes really start--
because they have to, right?-- from nothing. In the beginning. Right?
That's all I'm saying. So when I think of Country X, it starts, because it has
to... with my eyes closed."

Obie Award-winner Christopher Chen’s provocative fantasia, Passage, gently lifts us from our own reality and sets us down in a new place: Country X. Country X has been occupied by Country Y. Country X is allowed its own laws and leaders, but Country Y controls both and has been unfairly abusing its power to mistreat native-born citizens. Chen deftly deploys theatre’s primal evocative powers to “raise questions that make the audience profoundly uncomfortable, but simultaneously creates a welcoming space to which everyone is invited.” (Time Out New York). New Drama faculty member Adrienne Mackey, Artistic Director of Philadelphia’s Swim Pony, makes her UW Drama directorial debut.

Passage
By Christopher Chen
Directed by Adrienne Mackey
May 19 – 20, 2022
    Previews May 14 & 17
Floyd and Delores Jones Playhouse

Artists

Creative Team: 
DIRECTOR Adrienne Mackey Faculty
STAGE MANAGER
SET DESIGNER Brandon Riel 2nd year MFA designer
COSTUME DESIGNER Jenni Gile 2nd year MFA designer
LIGHT DESIGNER Xiaoou Li 2nd year MFA designer
SOUND DESIGNER
Share