Angels in America Part Two: Perestroika

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 7:30pm to Sunday, May 6, 2018 - 4:00pm
$10 students \ $14 senior, UW employee or retiree, UWAA \ $20 regular \ Pay-What-You-Can Wed May 2
Angels in America
Performance Showtimes: 
Tue, Apr 24, 2018 - 7:30pm
Thu, Apr 26, 2018 - 7:30pm
Fri, Apr 27, 2018 - 7:30pm
Sat, Apr 28, 2018 - 7:30pm
Sun, Apr 29, 2018 - 2:00pm
Wed, May 2, 2018 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 3, 2018 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 4, 2018 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 5, 2018 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 6, 2018 - 2:00pm

"Are we doomed?
Will the past release us?
Can we change?
In time?"

Angels in America Part II: Perestroika 
By Tony Kushner
Directed by Mark Valdez, guest director
April 27 – May 6
Previews April 24 & 26
Floyd and Delores Jones Playhouse Theatre, University of Washington

Part two of Tony Kushner’s epic tale of AIDS in 1980s America begins in a ruined place where the old orders are splintering and everything—and everyone—has come apart. Prior Walter is a prophet, and now the “great work” of rebuilding this devastated world can begin. We meet characters who, having faced annihilation, must now confront their own stubborn indestructability. Profoundly funny, magnificently theatrical, and startlingly timely, Perestroika is a story about locating hope in the midst of chaos. The New York Times called it “a true millennial work of art, uplifting, hugely comic and pantheistically religious in a very American style.”

Event Type: