Cabaret

Saturday, April 25, 2020 to Sunday, May 17, 2020
$5 - $25
The Balcony, 1998
The Balcony, 1998
Performance Showtimes: 
Sat, Apr 25, 2020 - 7:30pm
Tue, Apr 28, 2020 - 7:30pm
Thu, Apr 30, 2020 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 1, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 2, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 3, 2020 - 2:00pm
Wed, May 6, 2020 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 7, 2020 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 8, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 9, 2020 - 2:00pm
Sat, May 9, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 10, 2020 - 2:00pm
Wed, May 13, 2020 - 7:30pm
Thu, May 14, 2020 - 7:30pm
Fri, May 15, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sat, May 16, 2020 - 2:00pm
Sat, May 16, 2020 - 7:30pm
Sun, May 17, 2020 - 2:00pm

Book by Joe Masteroff, based on the play by John Van Druten and stories by Christopher Isherwood, music by John Kander, lyrics by Fred Ebb, 1998 Broadway production co-directed and choreographed by Rob Marshall, directed by Sam Mendes
Directed by Tim Bond
April 30 – May 17, 2020
    Previews April 25 & 28
    Pay-What-You-Can Wednesday May 6
Floyd and Delores Jones Playhouse

“What good's permitting some prophet of doom
To wipe every smile away
Life is a cabaret, old chum
So come to the cabaret!”

In a Berlin nightclub, as the 1920s draw to a close, a garish Master of Ceremonies assures the audience that they will forget all their troubles at the cabaret. But the emcee’s bawdy songs and the decadent allure of the Kit Kat Club can’t ease the creeping darkness of a country slowly yielding to the emerging Third Reich. Winner of the Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical, Cabaret gave us some of the most memorable songs in theatre history, including “Cabaret,” “Willkommen,” and “Maybe This Time.” It also gives us a stark warning for our time: that apathy, indifference, denial, and self-interest create fertile ground for evil to grow. Faculty member Tim Bond directs this first all-school production since 2015’s The Cradle Will Rock.

People Involved: 
Event Type: