We've moved! The School of Drama operations are relocating to Condon Hall until Summer 2024, while Hutchinson Hall undergoes seismic upgrades. See additional information.

You are here

The Cradle Will Rock

Wednesday, October 28, 2015 to Sunday, November 8, 2015
Performance Showtimes: 
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 7:30pm
Thursday, October 29, 2015 - 7:30pm
Friday, October 30, 2015 - 7:30pm
Saturday, October 31, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sunday, November 1, 2015 - 2:00pm
Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 7:30pm
Thursday, November 5, 2015 - 7:30pm
Friday, November 6, 2015 - 7:30pm
Saturday, November 7, 2015 - 7:30pm
Sunday, November 8, 2015 - 2:00pm

Written by Marc Blitzstein
Directed by Valerie Curtis-Newton

We launch our season with Marc Blitzstein’s infamous musical, a biting critique of corruption, unrestrained capitalism, and income inequality as relevant today as it was in 1937. Set in “Steeltown, USA,” the story follows the efforts of Larry Foreman to unionize local workers and combat wicked, greedy businessman Mr. Mister, who controls the town's factory, press, church, and social organizations.

The Cradle Will Rock kicks-off our anniversary season and features a cast of current students, faculty, and alumni.

The Cradle Will Rock has a rich history in the American theatre. The original production in 1937, directed by Orson Welles and produced by John Houseman, was temporarily shut down by the WPA a few days before it was to open on Broadway.  Many asserted that the musical had been censored because the pro-union plot was "too radical". To avoid government and union restrictions, the show was performed with Marc Blitzstein playing piano onstage and the cast members singing their parts from the audience.

The History of 'The Cradle Will Rock' (PDF)

The Cradle Will Rock Program (PDF)


Andrew McMasters John Houseman
Andrew Russell Orson Welles
Jose Gonzales Mark Blitzstein/Pianist
Rebekah Patti Moll
Tre Cotten Gent/Reverend Salvation
Aaron Francis Cammack Junior Mr./Gus
Jonathan Shue Harry Druggist/Dr.Specialist
Moises Castro Bugs/Larry Foreman
Christen Gee Celeya Sadie
Jeffrey Frace Mr. Mister
Tatiana Pavela Mrs. Mister
AJ Friday Editor Daily
Hazel Lozano Yasha
Claire Fort Dauber
Judy Shahn Professor Mamie
L. Zane Jones Professor Trixie
Cathy Madden Professor Scoot
Andrea Saliaz Ella Hammer
Abrah Friberg Sister Mr./Moll's Pal/Reporter
Sarah Russell Moll's Pal/Reporter
Michael Monicatti Cop/Reporter
Dominic Racelis Dick/Steve/Reporter
Creative Team: 
Valerie Curtis-Newton Director
Scott Hafso Musical Director
Alex Danilchik Technical Director
Jennifer Zeyl Scenic Design
Kyle Soble Light Design
Fawn Bartlett Costume Design
Jacob Israel Sound Design