Rutherford and Son

Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 7:30pm to Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 2:00pm
$8 - $20
Rutherford and Son
Poster by Shannon Loys
Performance Showtimes: 
Sat, Jan 19, 2019 - 7:30pm
Tue, Jan 22, 2019 - 7:30pm
Wed, Jan 23, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, Jan 24, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, Jan 25, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, Jan 26, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, Jan 27, 2019 - 2:00pm
Wed, Jan 30, 2019 - 7:30pm
Thu, Jan 31, 2019 - 7:30pm
Fri, Feb 1, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sat, Feb 2, 2019 - 7:30pm
Sun, Feb 3, 2019 - 2:00pm

“Life in this house is intolerable.”

Rutherford and Son
By Githa Sowerby
Directed by Cody Holliday Haefner, 3rd year MFA director
January 23 - February 3, 2019
Previews January 19 & 22
Floyd and Delores Jones Playhouse Theatre, University of Washington

In 1912, a new play by an unknown female playwright took London by storm. Originally scheduled for only four performances at London’s Royal Court Theatre, Rutherford and Son by Githa Sowerby quickly transferred to the West End, receiving its New York premiere within the same year. Despite its initial success, Sowerby’s shattering drama of family business soon faded into obscurity, and more than half a century passed before it was produced again. Indeed, UW Drama will only be the third company in the United States to ever present this transformational work of contemporary drama. Be assured, time has only sharpened Sowerby's withering, feminist excoriation of the golden age of patriarchy, and the scheming, backstabbing family life that one patriarch wrought—The New York Post called a 2001 production "alive with human passions and tyrannies."

People Involved: 
Event Type: